Look into my fries. . . in Amsterdam no less!

I had heard about these fries before going to Amsterdam. No-one had prepared me for the wonderful taste of the hot, crispy, oozy soft inside fries topped with smooth creamy mayonnaise. I had my first ‘cone’ of fries from one of the popular yellow hole in the wall vendors. In the Netherlands they are called Vlaamse Frites. You buy the base model (frites) and then add on sauces. Some vendors have 5 or 10 different varieties. For me, I went with the original, and the best. They are truly amazing and the flavour lingers on your lips long after the food is gone. I am going back to Amsterdam soon and I can’t wait to revisit this simple but yummy treat.

What sauces do you like on your frites?

2 comments

  1. DLCS Management · July 26, 2011

    Vlaams means “Vlamish”; Belgian… you actually tried the Belgian fries in Ams (they are the best in Ams). Try peanutsauce when you’re back. Most foreigners hate it. My favourite.

    • cococantrelle · July 26, 2011

      Thanks for letting me know! The peanutsauce is a good recommendation. I will give it a try on my next trip. Maybe I will need to buy a couple of cones of frites to try a few different sauces…mmmm

Leave a Reply

